[5-1968]

CONSTITUTION

ARTICLE I

Name

This organization shall be known as Society of Afro-American Culture (SAAC).

ARTICLE II

Purpose

The purpose of this organization shall be to work within the University framework to spawn the idea of black identity, seek black representation in official University functions, provide an instrument for black peoples entrance into the legislative, judicial and executive system at North Carolina State University, and to promote the growth of nationally affiliated social fraternities and sororities on the North Carolina State University campus.

ARTICLE III

Membership

Membership in this organization shall be open to:

- All students, graduate or undergraduate of North Carolina State University.
- 2) Faculty members of North Carolina State University

ARTICLE IV

Officers

This organization shall be presided over by an Executive Committee, the officers of said committee being also the officers of the organization. These officers shall be Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, plus two other Executive Committee members, and a parliamentarian.

ARTICLE V

Meetings

- Section I. Regular meetings shall be held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month throughout the year at times and locations to be announced.
- Section II. Special meetings may be called by the Chairman of the Executive Committee when deemed necessary.
- Section III. Regular meetings are subject to cancellation by the Chairman.

ARTICLE VI

Amendments

This constitution may be amended at any meeting of the organization by a twothirds vote of a quorum, in which a majority of members at a general meeting are present.

BY-LAWS

ARTICLE I

Duties of Officers

- Section 1. It shall be the duty of the Chairman of the Executive Committee

 to preside at all meetings of the organization and of the Executive

 Committee and to perform all the duties usually pertaining to his

 office.
- Section 2. In the absence or disability of the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman shall perform all the duties of the Chairman.
- Section 3. The Secretary shall keep the minutes of all proceedings of the organization and the Executive Committee meetings and record the same.

 He shall give notice of all meetings and perform such other duties as

his office may require.

- Section 4. The treasurer shall receive and safely keep all funds of the organization, and pay out the same only on the order of the Chairman who receives approval from the general membership.
- Section 5. The parliamentarian shall keep order in the meetings. He shall be responsible for the orderly procedures according to Robert's Rules of Order.

ARTICLE II

Election of Officers

- Section 1. All officers and Executive Committee members shall be elected at the third meeting of the spring semester. Nominations for officers shall be accepted at the regular meeting prior to this one. Election shall be by ballot and the newly elected officers shall assume their offices at the close of that meeting.
- Section 2. No member shall be eligible for office who has not been a member of the organization for at least one semester.
- Section 3. Should an officer resign before the end of his term, the Chairman shall appoint some member of the organization to assume the office temporarily, and order the Secretary to send notice of a special election at the next regular meeting, when the vacancy will be filled.
- Section 4. An officer can be impeached by 51% of the members. The impeached has to be notified to be present at the next regular meeting when the impeachment is to take place.

Section 5. All candidates for an executive position must have a 2.0 overall average.

ARTICLE III

Amendments

These By-Laws may be amended at any meeting by a two-thirds vote of a quorum

ARTICLE IV

Suspension of By-Laws

These By-Laws may be suspended in case of emergency by three-fourths of a quorum.

ARTICLE V

Clause

In view of current social deficiencies in our present society in order to incorporate a more unified front, we, the members of DARE propose the dissolution of the organization (DARE) upon the formal organization of SAAC, which will better serve the needs of all Afro-American students.

ARTICLE VI

Dues

Dues shall be \$3 per year, to become a voting member of the organization.

ARTICLE VII

Faculty Advisor

A faculty advisor shall be selected from among the faculty members at North Carolina State University.

A STATELENT OF SUPPORT TO THE NON-ACADEMIC WORKERS BY THE SOCIETY OF AFRO-AMERICAN CULTURE March 18, 1969

The forty-two requests that the Non-academic Employees' Union presented to the Chancellor are so basic, essential, and justifiable that they should have been granted long ago. The Non-academic employees have been taken for granted too long and now it is time that they get higher wages and the other requests which they have asked for. Too long have Black workers been stopped at a certain level of employment and not allowed to advance. Too long have Black workers been teaching their supervisors to do jobs which the Black workers should have had. Too long have our Black Brothers and Sisters at this university had to work for insufficient wages.

Action must be taken now and not after long debates.

On the basis of the above statements and the urgency with which we feel these requests should be granted, we the members of the Society of Afro-American Culture wish to pledge our support to the Non-academic Workers in their efforts to gain economic status compatible with that of the average American.

Signed

Dupree Simmons, Public Relation Coordinator of the Society of Afro-American Culture

CHARTER MEMBERS OF SOCIETY OF AFROMAMERICAN CULTURE

Constance Bailey Burnice Bivens(FR.) Ralph B. Brown FI Annie Bulluck 30 Nathaniel Bullock(FK) Clyde Chesney (FK) Arthur Clement(so) Ronald Curtis(FR) William Cooper(FR) Alfred Deas Fr) Sherman Elliot (K) Edward Epps (50) Estella Funchesaso) Earl Goodman JR Westley Guyton (FR) George Hall (JC) Joseph Hall PR) Danny Harris Donald Harris(FR) 7 Thomas Harvey Sol Alfred Heartley(FK) Ronald Henry(FC) Lionel Hill(FK) Joan Hood(FR) Thaddeaus Hodge(50) C. Frederick Johnson III(50) Shirley Leary(FE) Michael Little F()
Jim Lee (6r) HenrymM. McGill(So) Franklin McNeil(Fr) George MacRae, Jr. 50) obert Marks (FK) Eric Moore (50) John Moore Jr Rufus Moore FR) James Motely(50) Chatry Perry (so) Howard Pable (SR) Alfred Roberts (FK)

Gerald Rush(FK) Stephen Seabron(FK) Richard Shackleford(R). Hoger Shackleford(50) W. Dupree /Simmons(50) Willie Simmons(FR) James Ste ward Shirley Swann (FK). Genny Sims (50) Augustus Thompson(Fe) Brad Thompson (R) David Tyler JR Herbert Tyler(50) Malcolm Wilkins FR) ? David Williams (5) George Williams (So-Fr-Jr.-So Luke Williams Oedies Williams GRAD Lawrence Wilson So Robert Wootenso J. Andrew Wooden So